FIFA Announces World Cup 2014 Golden Ball shortlist

  • The 2014 World Cup is over, but you can still find the Betting Offers | Bookmakers | Free Betting Tips | Compare Odds
  • FIFA have announced the shortlist nominees for the 2014 Golden Ball which will be the prize awarded to the best player of the 2014 World Cup.

    Of the 10 players selected for the player of the tournament accolade, seven of them will play in Sunday's World Cup final between Germany and Argentina in Rio de Janeiro.

    Argentina have three nominees in Angel Di Maria, Javier Mascherano and their star striker Lionel Messi, while their opponents in Sunday's final, Germany, have four players in the running for the award.

    Open an account with bet365 today and get up 100% deposit bonus up to £200 to bet on World Cup matches.

    Mats Hummels, Toni Kroos, Phillip Lahm and Thomas Muller are the German players nominated from Joachim Low's side, Muller having scored five goals in the tournament including a hat-trick against Portugal during their group stage opener.

    Bayern Munich's Muller also has a chance to take the Golden Boot for most goals of the tournament away from Colombia's James Rodriguez if he was to score his sixth in Sunday's final for Germany, while 22-year-old Rodriguez is another of those 10 shortlisted for player of the World Cup after some inspiring performances in the absence of Radamel Falcao.

    Brazil's Neymar is also on the list after spearheading the host nation towards the semi-finals with four goals, although the forward's tournament was ended abruptly by a back injury during their quarter-final victory over Colombia.

    Arjen Robben of the Netherlands completes the 10-man shortlist, while team-mate Memphis Depay and France's Paul Pogba and Raphael Varane have been nominated for the best young player of the tournament.

    Barcelona hero Messi is favourite to win the Golden Ball award at 13/8 with Paddy Power, while Germany's Muller is next up at 3/1 with Coral.

    FIFA also announced three nominees for the Golden Glove tournament, which will be awarded to the best goalkeeper at the World Cup.

    Germany's Manuel Neuer and Argentina's Sergio Romero will compete for the prize against Costa Rica's star performer, Keylor Navas, as the excelling underdogs made it as far as the quarter-finals before losing to the Netherlands on penalties.

    Nine of the players mentioned have the opportunity to increase their chances of claiming an award, as Germany face Argentina in Rio de Janeiro at 8pm on Sunday night in the mouth-watering final clash. You can compare all the odds for the 2014 World Cup final right here.

    Germany v Argentina Best Odds

    Start Time: 13/07/2014 - 19:00

    Germany2.4Boyle Sports logo
    Draw3.3Winner logo
    Argentina3.5Betfred logo
  • Latest Tip

    • Betting Tips For Germany v Argentina

      Germany take on Argentina in Rio de Janeiro on Sunday, get football betting tips ahead of the World Cup Final.

  • Latest Enhanced Odds

    Paddy Power Logo

    Paddy Power Enhanced Odds: 11/2 Argentina To Win World Cup

    Get enhanced odds 11/2 Argentina to win the World Cup at Paddy Power, a massive price boost exclusive for new customers

    Learn More
    Claim Now
    Betfair Sportsbook Logo

    Betfair Sportsbook Enhanced Odds 8/1 Argentina To Win The World Cup

    Get enhanced odds 8/1 Argentina to win the World Cup on Betfair Sportsbook an exclusive World Cup price boost for new customers who register today

    Learn More
    Claim Now