Formula 1: Italian Grand Prix Grid Positions

Tags: Sports

Published: 10:04 12/09/2010

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso is remaining cautious after taking pole position for the first time in over a year in front of ecstatic home fans at Monza. Online bookmakers are offering free bets to new customers which can be redeemed on the today’s Italian Grand Prix at the historic Monza circuit. With team-mate Felipe Massa clinching third place on the grid, fans could be forgiven for anticipating a Ferrari one-two on their home track. But Alonso’s expectations for Sunday’s race aren’t so ambitious, he said after qualifying: "Tomorrow we need a podium minimum to remain in the (title) fight. “There is no big pressure about winning the race, but at the same time we know we cannot afford a DNF or bad result. "A win would be great, but let's try to be consistent and put in a good performance as we've not been that consistent this season." World champion Jensen Button finally made the front row when making better use of the McLaren than his compatriot Lewis Hamilton who is back on the third row in fifth position. Red Bull’s Mark Webber qualified in fourth position and his team mate Sebastian Vettel lines up alongside Hamilton in sixth. Despite Alonso playing it cool, Ferrari will be expecting Alonso to close the gap at the top of the Drivers Championship standings and the bookmakers have him installed as strong favourite win maximum points. William Hill bet 4/5 for Alonso to win and Totesport are offering odds of 7/2 for the dangerman, Jensen Button. STARTING GRID: 1 Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, 1:21.962 2 Jenson Button, McLaren-Mercedes, 1:22.084 3 Felipe Massa, Ferrari, 1:22.293 4 Mark Webber, RBR-Renault, 1:22.433 5 Lewis Hamilton, McLaren-Mercedes, 1:22.394 6 Sebastian Vettel, RBR-Renault, 1:22.675 7 Nico Rosberg, Mercedes GP, 1:23.027 8 Nico Hulkenberg, Williams-Cosworth, 1:22.989 9 Robert Kubica, Renault, 1:22.880 10 Rubens Barrichello, Williams-Cosworth, 1:23.142 11 Adrian Sutil, Force India-Mercedes, 1:23.199 12 Michael Schumacher, Mercedes GP, 1:23.388 13 Kamui Kobayashi, BMW Sauber-Ferrari, 1:23.659 14 Sebastien Buemi, STR-Ferrari, 1:23.681 15 Vitaly Petrov, Renault, 1:23.819 16 Jaime Alguersuari, STR-Ferrari, 1:23.919 17 Pedro de la Rosa, BMW Sauber-Ferrari, 1:24.044 18 Jarno Trulli, Lotus-Cosworth, 1:25.540 19 Heikki Kovalainen, Lotus-Cosworth, 1:25.742 20 Vitantonio Liuzzi, Force India-Mercedes, 1:25.774 21 Timo Glock, Virgin-Cosworth, 1:25.934 22 Lucas di Grassi, Virgin-Cosworth, 1:25.974 23 Bruno Senna, HRT-Cosworth, 1:26.847 24 Sakon Yamamoto, HRT-Cosworth, 1:27.020

Read about William Hill welcome offer and how to claim free bets and bonuses on William Hill