Formula 1: Korean Grand Prix Result

Tags: Sports

Published: 14:45 24/10/2010

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso won Formula One’s inaugural Korean Grand Prix on Sunday after the race had been temporarily suspended due to heavy rain with only four laps completed. First-time customers will receive free bets from online bookmakers when signing up during the Formula One season with the latest grand prix having raced the newly constructed circuit at Yeongam in Korea. Alonso started from third on the grid and his victory in the rain-delayed race took him into the pole position in the thrilling race for the Drivers Championship. Lewis Hamilton drove his McLaren into second place to deny Ferrari a one-two finish when he kept Felipe Massa back in third place. Michael Schumacher equalled the performance of his comeback season when steering his Mercedes into fourth place. It was a disastrous day for Red Bull with Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber failing to finish the race after qualifying first and second on the grid. Webber went out first, losing the lead in the Drivers Championship when he crashed out on the 19th lap and Vettel was leading on lap 46 when his engine blew up forcing his retirement. Sunday’s result has further opened up a close contest for the Drivers Championship with two races left to go. Alonso is the new leader with an eleven point advantage over Webber, while Lewis Hamilton still has an outside chance having moved up to third place with 50 points still to race for. Bookmakers have now installed Alonso as favourite for the Drivers Championship with 888 Sport offering odds of 8/11, however Mark Webber should not be ruled out in the Red Bull car and Totesport bet 9/4 for the Aussie to be crowned champion at the end of the season. FORMULA 1 DRIVERS CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: 1 Fernando Alonso Spa Ferrari 231pts 2 Mark Webber Aus Red Bull-Renault 220pts 3 Lewis Hamilton GB McLaren-Mercedes 210pts 4 Sebastian Vettel Ger Red Bull-Renault 206pts 5 Jenson Button GB McLaren-Mercedes 189pts 6 Felipe Massa Brz Ferrari 143pts KOREAN GRAND PRIX RESULT: Fernando Alonso Ferrari 2:48:20.810 25pts Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes +00:14.999 18pts Felipe Massa Ferrari +00:30.868 15pts Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP +00:39.688 12pts Robert Kubica Renault +00:47.734 10pts Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes +00:53.571 8pts Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth +01:09.257 6pts Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari +01:17.889 4pts Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber-Ferrari +01:20.107 2pts Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth +01:20.851 1pt Jaime Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari +01:24.146 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes +01:29.939 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth +01:29.939 Bruno Senna Hispania-Cosworth +01:29.939 Hispania-Cosworth +01:29.939 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes +01:29.939 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault +01:29.939 Vitaly Petrov Renault +01:29.939 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth +01:29.939 Sebastien Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari +01:29.939 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth +01:29.939 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth +01:29.939 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP +01:29.939 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault +01:29.939

Read about 888 Sport welcome offer and how to claim free bets and bonuses on 888 Sport