Formula 1: Brazilian Grand Prix Result

Tags: Sports

Published: 19:14 07/11/2010

Sebastian Vettel ensured the Formula One drivers’ championship goes down to the last race after winning the Brazilian Grand Prix on Sunday. Vettel’s fourth win of the season means the drivers championship will now be decided on the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi in a week’s time. Germany’s new driving hero flashed over the winning line at Interlagos 4.2 seconds ahead of team-mate Mark Webber to secure the constructor’s championship for Red Bull Racing. Vettel closed to within seven points of Webber who is second in the standings a further eight points behind the leader Fernando Alonso. Alonso’s hopes of clinching the title in Brazil failed to materialise and he finished third after starting from fifth position on the grid. McLaren drivers Lewis Hamilton and Jensen Button followed in fourth and fifth place to effectively end hopes of a British champion for a third consecutive year. A top two finish in Abu Dhabi will make the title a certainty for Alonso and Stan James bet 8/11 that Ferrari’s number one driver will secure the points he needs to take the title. Vettel must win to have any chance of taking his first drivers championship crown on the circuit where he holds the track record, set in the inaugural race last year. Stan James bet 10/1 Vettel to win the championship and there is a belief he may put the interests of his team-mate above his own, Unibet are offering odds of 24/13 for Webber to be crowned champion. BRAZILIAN GRAND PRIX RACE RESULT: 1 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault Winner 1:33:11.803 25pts 2 Mark Webber RBR-Renault +4.2 secs 18pts 3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari +6.8 secs 15pts 4 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes +14.6 secs 12pts 5 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes +15.5 secs 10pts 6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP +35.3 secs 8pts 7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP +43.4 secs 6pts 8 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth +1 Lap 4pts 9 Robert Kubica Renault +1 Lap 2pts 10 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari +1 Lap 1pt 11 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari +1 Lap 12 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes +1 Lap 13 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari +1 Lap 14 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth +1 Lap 15 Felipe Massa Ferrari +1 Lap 16 Vitaly Petrov Renault +1 Lap 17 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber-Ferrari +1 Lap 18 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth +2 Lap 19 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth +2 Laps 20 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth +2 Laps 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth +2 Laps 22 Christian Klien HRT-Cosworth +6 Laps Ret Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth +9 Laps Ret Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes +22 Laps DRIVERS CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: 1 Fernando Alonso 246pts 2 Mark Webber 238pts 3 Sebastian Vettel 231pts 4 Lewis Hamilton 222pts 5 Jensen Button 199pts

Read about Stan James welcome offer and how to claim free bets and bonuses on Stan James