England T20 Squad: George Garton & David Payne To Debut In West Indies?

England have named a 16-man squad for their five-match T20 series in the West Indies in January, with no players currently involved in the Ashes included.

Paul Collingwood will be England’s stand-in head coach for their New Year series in Barbados between January 22-30, with Chris Silverwood still in Australia completing the Ashes series.

Eoin Morgan will captain a squad including Sussex and Gloucestershire left-arm seamers George Garton and David Payne.


Six of the 16 players are currently involved in the Big Bash League out in Australia – a competition the likes of Sam Billings, Tymal Mills and Reece Topley amongst others will have to leave – and 11 travelled to the UAE last month for the T20 World Cup.

This series begins another T20 World Cup year, with the next edition to be played in Australia in October and November.

Coach Collingwood said: “We have selected a strong squad with some serious batting power and a balanced attack as we begin preparations ahead of the T20 World Cup in Australia.

“The World Cup is less than a year away, and there will be increased opportunities for the squad in the absence of those players who are with the Ashes squad.

“I have good memories winning a World Cup in Barbados, and I’m really looking forward to going back there with this squad to face a very good West Indies, who will test all aspects of our skills.”

Squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex – captain), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), George Garton (Sussex), Chris Jordan (Surrey), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Tymal Mills (Sussex), David Payne (Gloucestershire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Phil Salt (Lancashire), Reece Topley (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire).