Super League Betting Guide 2023

The Betfred Super League is the premier rugby league competition in the northern hemisphere and includes 10 teams from northern England and two from the south of France.

And this is your best place for Free Bets, odds and tips for the competition, which runs from early February until the season-deciding Grand Final is held in September.

The 2022 campaign is a big year for British rugby league as it will be the first season that two French teams have played in the Super League.

Toulouse Olympique were promoted from the Betfred Championship last autumn and will now join Catalans Dragons in the competition – while the Rugby League World Cup will be staged in England later this year.

All You Need to Know About the Super League

Super League XXVII, known as the Betfred Super League XXVII for sponsorship reasons, is the 27th season of the Super League and 128th season of rugby league in Great Britain.

The 2022 season will start earlier than normal for there to be a break before the World Cup starts in October 2022.

The season will commence on 10 February 2022 and will end with the Grand Final on 24 September 2022.

St Helens are the reigning champions going into Super League XXVII, after successfully retaining their title, beating Catalans Dragons in the 2021 Grand Final.

For the first time in Super League there will be two French teams in the competition as Toulouse Olympique won promotion by beating Featherstone Rovers in the 2021 Million Pound Game.

Super League Trophies

The Super League Grand Final is the championship-deciding game of rugby league’s Super League competition.

It is played between two teams who have qualified via the Super League Play-Off series.

The winning team receives the Super League Trophy and goes on to play the NRL champions in the World Club Challenge.

The Harry Sunderland Trophy is awarded to the man of the match. The match is normally played at Old Trafford in Greater Manchester.

Only four clubs have won the Super League, as of 2021 – St Helens (8), Leeds Rhinos (8), Wigan Warriors (5), and Bradford Bulls (3).

St Helens are the current champions, after winning the 2021 Super League Grand Final.

The team who finishes top at the end of the regular season wins the League Leaders’ Shield and side who finishes bottom are relegated.

Super League teams also compete every year in the Challenge Cup, the oldest and most famous knockout cup competition in rugby league.

Which Outright Betting Markets Can I Bet on in the Betfred Super League?

  • League Leaders’ Shield Winner
  • Super League Grand Final Winner
  • Challenge Cup Winner
  • Man of Steel Winner
  • Top Try scorer
  • Top Points Scorer
  • Super League Dream Team
  • Top Six Finish
  • Team to be Relegated

How to Get Free Bets for the Super League

The best way to maximise your Super League betting is by taking advantage of a Free Bets offer.

This gives you the chance to enjoy the thrill of the various markets available without having to risk your own money.

We have the most comprehensive selection of Super League free bets right here on this page.

To take advantage all you need to do is find an offer that you like the look of, click the link, follow the sign-up and free bet instructions with the bookies and then place your free bet.

It’s a quick and simple process with a potentially lucrative outcome!

Super League Best Betting Tips & Strategies

Having an outright bet on Super League before the season begins is tempting but one of the best ways of profiting from your Super League betting is by managing your outright positions during the season.

You can do this either by betting with an exchange such as Betfair or by using the cash out options available with the best online bookies.

Six Super League Past Winners

Year Team

2021 St Helens

2020 St Helens

2019 St Helens

2018 Wigan Warriors

2017 Leeds Rhinos

2016 Wigan Warriors

Latest Rugby Betting Tips and News