Rugby World Cup 2019 Betting: Your Complete Guide


Here at Freebets we can’t wait for the competition to get underway. It takes over the nation, more so than the Six Nations and this year will be no different as we wake up in the early hours to watch the home nations compete.

If you’re looking to enjoy some Rugby World Cup betting, then you’ve come to the right place. Below you’ll find all you need to know about the competition, including where to find the best odds!

Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets + £10 on Rugby at 888Sport

Rugby World Cup Final Betting

England were the big betting underdogs for their Rugby World Cup semi-final against New Zealand. Eddie Jones said in the build-up to that huge match that he had highlighted areas of weakness that he could exploit and boy did he prove to be correct.

England didn’t just beat New Zealand, they battered them. That is true both literally – England’s incredibly physical forwards had the edge over their Kiwi counterparts – and metaphorically – England’s margin of victory could have been even greater than 19-7 had a couple of debatable TMO decisions gone in their favour.

The semi-final win was the real coming of age moment for this England side. It was just the semi-final though. Jones and his players must now turn their attentions to a return to the Yokohama Stadium next Saturday for the final against South Africa.

The Springboks were many people’s idea of the best value bet for the 2019 Rugby World Cup before the tournament began. However, it’s England who are the bookies’ favourites at a best price of 8/13 with William Hill. That is not just a patriotic, heart-over-head bet either. England have improved with every performance during their time in Japan and you can be sure Jones will come up with another masterplan so England really can complete the job to win the Rugby World Cup for a second time.

Rugby World Cup Betting Predictions

Like any start of a Rugby World Cup, most pundits are talking up the chances of New Zealand, and while they are difficult to look past, there are a handful of nations which could upset the applecart and take victory.

The progress of the South Africans will be interesting to watch. They get their campaign underway against the defending champions and if they do well, they’ll certainly be ones to watch for the rest of the tournament.

England, Ireland and Wales are all capable of success, particularly the former, who, at 9/4 to reach the final with Coral, look a good bet.

Our Rugby World Cup predictions would back the All Blacks, but we certainly think there is value to be had for those brave enough to back the field behind them.

Rugby World Cup Odds

As you’d expect, New Zealand are hot Rugby World Cup favourites having won the previous two tournaments. There will be little value in betting on them, with England and South Africa the only two sides likely to cause any upsets.

England are 4/1 and are at least worth a free bet, while the Springboks have some real talent in there side and will undoubtedly be a real danger.

Below you’ll find the current Rugby World Cup Winner odds with William Hill:

Which Bookies are Offering the Best Odds & Markets

A number of bookies are already exciting fans with their Rugby World Cup 2019 odds, thanks to some rather interesting markets.

Paddy Power are currently offering a good market to place, particularly with England, Ireland and Wales all having a good chance of victory. You can back any Six Nations to win the Rugby World Cup at 15/8 as a price boost offer, a bet well worth considering.

Ladbrokes are also offering some interesting markets, with Owen Farrell to be sent off during the tournament at 16/1, which, given his disciplinary record, could be one to back.

Of course, as well as this you’ll find all the usual Top Try Scorer, Pool Winner and other specials and outright markets available across all the top bookmakers. For all the finest in the UK, head over to our Bookmakers section for in-depth reviews and instructions on how to sign-up to them.

How Will England Do at the RWC 2019

England are being backed by pundits globally and Eddie Jones has the experience to take the side deep into the tournament. Owen Farrell will of course be the key man if they are going to succeed, just as Jonny Wilkinson was in 2003. Following the disappointment of finishing second to Wales in the Six Nations this year, England will be striving for the ultimate prize in Japan.

That has placed them as second favourites for the Rugby World Cup with the bookmakers, and we think that’s about right.

Where they could come undone is if they win their pool and New Zealand do the same, meaning the two will meet in the semi-finals in a titanic clash, with the victor surely the favourite to go on and win the cup.

Rugby World Cup Betting Offers & Free Bets

There are already plenty of free bets and bonuses being offered for the Rugby World Cup.

Paddy Power are offering price boosts across a number of markets, while William Hill are offering a £5 free bet when you place £10 on any World Cup market.

Betfred are also offering a range of specials and enhanced odds, all worth taking a look, while we’ll of course see plenty more free bet offers and promotions as the tournament progresses.

For all the latest free bets and no deposit free bets, keep an eye on our homepage where we always keep you updated with the latest bookmaker offers.

What, When & Where is the Rugby World Cup?

The Rugby World Cup will take place in Japan this year across 12 different venues. It kicks off on September 20, 2019 and runs through to November 2, 2019 when the final gets underway at the famous Yokohama Stadium.

The schedule features two different stages, beginning with a group format, in which the top two teams from each pool qualify for the knockout rounds.

20 teams have qualified for the tournament, and  they are divided into four different pools of five teams. These are:

  • Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Russia, Samoa
  • Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Namibia, Canada
  • Pool C: England, France, Argentina, USA, Tonga
  • Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Fiji, Uruguay

The complete schedule of events for the tournament along with the dates are:

  • Pool Stage: September 20 – October 13, 2019
  • Quarter Finals: October 19-20, 2019
  • Semi Finals: October 26-27, 2019
  • Bronze Final: November 1, 2019
  • Final: November 2, 2019

Rugby World Cup – Previous Winners

There have been just four winners since the Rugby World Cup began in 1987, with New Zealand being the reigning champions, looking to defend their crown for a second successive time.

Below you’ll find the seven most recent Rugby World Cup Finals, alongside the nation who was crowned champion.

2015New Zealand34-17Australia
2011New Zealand8-7France
2007South Africa15-6England
2003England20-17 (aet)Australia
1995South Africa15-12 (aet)New Zealand

Rugby World Cup Live Streaming

The Rugby World Cup will be streamed across the planet and will be available both on television and online in the UK.

ITV and S4C have the rights in Britain, with it available to live stream through the ITV Hub, while you’ll also find it on BBC 5 Live as well as following through many online bookmakers through their live tracking and live streaming services.

Learn how to watch the Rugby World Cup 2019 live online

Rugby World Cup 2019 live streaming