2015 Grand Slam Of Darts

The 2015 Singha Beer Grand Slam Of Darts will once again take place at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall, but will have a slightly different format with 24 PDC stars set to be joined by eight BDO players in this year's tournament.It's the ninth renewal of the tournament which has proven to be a big hit with players and fans alike, scheduled to take place from November 7th-15th. Punters who like a bet on the darts will be pleased to discover that all the action will be televised live on Sky Sports.The tournament carries a prize fund of £400,000 making it a highly lucrative competition with £100,000 going to the champion and the runner-up claiming £50,000. With a huge purse to play for along with a place in the history books, expect some top quality tungsten and tension as the tournament enters the closing stages.Grand Slam Of Darts HistoryThe tournament has been staged each November at the Wolverhampton Civic since its innauguration in 2007. Phil Taylor won the first three editions beating Andy Hamilton in the 2007 final, Terry Jenkins in 2008 and Scott Waites in 2009. The Power did not reach the final in 2010 after losing to Steve Beaton in the quarter-finals, allowing Scott Waites to triumph that year after beating James Wade 16–12 in the final despite trailing 8–0 at one point.Taylor reclaimed the title in 2011, defeating Gary Anderson 16-4 before Raymond van Barneveld defeated Michael van Gerwen 16-14 in an all Dutch 2012 final. Phil Taylor returned to glory with a 16-6 victory over Robert Thornton in 2013 and successfully defended his crown last year when beating defeating Dave Chisnall 16–13 in the final to win a record sixth title.Grand Slam Of Darts Top Players - Titles (runner-up)Phil Taylor - 6 (0)Scott Waites - 1 (1)Raymond van Barneveld - 1 (0)Andy Hamilton - 0 (1)Terry Jenkins - 0 (1)James Wade - 0 (1)Gary Anderson - 0 (1)Michael van Gerwen - 0 (1)Robert Thornton - 0 (1)Dave Chisnall - 0 (1)Despite never having won the tournament, It's Michael van Gerwen that the bookies want to keep on side and any would be backers will be better off taking a price boost than betting at prohibitive odds.Phil Taylor's odds are of more appeal considering what he's achieved in the short history of this event and it's understandable that Gary Anderson is considered the nearest challenger to the 'big two' on the back of an amzing few months for the Flying Scotsman.Further down the betting Adrian Lewis will be hoping to make his first ever final despite being among the perennial participants and last year's beaten finalist Dave Chisnall is available at a big price for those fancying Chizzy to go on another run.James Wade, Peter Wright and Raymond van Barneveld are thought to have an outside chance of winning the 2015 Grand Slam of Darts, while Martin Adams is the best fancied of the BDO contingent.