2015 Players Championship

Between Thursday 7 May until Sunday 10 May 2015, the Players Championship provided a tough test for the world's top golfers in the PGA Tour and often produced one of the most exciting golfing events of the year.

Played at one of the best-ranked courses in the United States, the Players Championship is largely considered to be the “5th Major” golf tournament on the PGA Tour and was hosted by TPC at Sawgrass in Ponte Verda Beach, Florida.

The very first running of the event took place back in 1974 when American Jack Nicklaus emerged victorious with a score of -13 for a prize of $50,000. The event changed its name from the Tournament Players Championship to the Players Championship in 1988 and, since 1982, has been played across the road from Sawgrass Country Club on the Stadium Course at TPC at Sawgrass.

Many online bookmakers will welcome you with a free bet for the event. and with such a close field expected to compete in the tournament next year, everyone already has an opinion on who they think can win whether it be from current form or past performances at the event.

Defending Champion

Rickie Fowler won the 2015 tournament, beating Kevin Kisner and Sergio García in a playoff.

Trailing by 5 shots with 6 holes to play, Fowler played the last 6 holes at 6-under-par with four birdies and an eagle to force a playoff. After the 3-hole aggregate playoff ended with Kisner and Fowler still tied, they returned to the 17th for sudden-death. Fowler put his tee shot to 5 feet on the island green 17th, and made birdie to win.

Previous Winners

Nicklaus holds the most Players Championship wins in history with three to his name between 1974-78, only Fred Couples, Steve Elkington, Hal Sutton, Davis Love III and Tiger Woods having claimed more than one win at the event.

Next year showcases one of the finest fields of golfing talent on show, Fowler having this year beaten the likes of Henrik Stenson, Patrick Reed, Bubba Watson, Adam Scott, Justin Rose, Jordan Spieth, Jimmy Walker and Britain's Rory McIlroy.

All those names will be popular among the bookmakers, Spieth in particular the hot favourite after being named Player of the Year in 2015.

Recent Winners:

2000 - Hal Sutton
2001 - Tiger Woods
2002 - Craig Perks
2003 - Davies Love III
2004 - Adam Scott
2005 - Fred Funk
2006 - Stephen Ames
2007 - Phil Mickelson
2008 - Sergio Garcia
2009 - Henrik Stenson
2010 - Tim Clark
2011 - KJ Choi
2012 - Matt Kuchar
2013 - Tiger Woods
2014 - Martin Kaymer
2015 - Rickie Fowler