Royal Ascot 2015

Ascot Racecourse stages one of Britain's most iconic sporting events with a five-day offering of top quality races accompanied by a rich heritage of pageantry and fashion. Royal Ascot 2015 takes place from Tuesday 16th to Saturday 20th June when we can expect to see the cream of British and Irish flat runners squaring off along with an increasing stream of raiders from America, Australia and other corners of the globe.Dating back to 1711 when founded by Queen Anne, Royal Ascot is regularly attended by members of the British Royal Family who arrive via horse-drawn carriage in a Royal procession before the raising of the Queen's Royal Standard signalls that racing can begin. In 2013 Queen Elizabeth II became the first reigning monarch to own the winner of the Gold Cup, she was due to present the trophy to the winner, but it was instead presented by her son Prince Andrew.With no less than sixteen group races on offer, there's at least one Group One event on each of the five days at Royal Ascot with the Gold Cup the undoubted highlight of the meeting.Last 10 Gold Cup Winners (Jockey, Trainer, Time)2005 Westerner (Olivier Peslier, Elie Lellouche, 4:19.49)2006 Yeats (Kieren Fallon, Aidan O'Brien, 4:20.45)2007 Yeats (Michael Kinane, Aidan O'Brien, 4:20.78)2008 Yeats (Johnny Murtagh, Aidan O'Brien, 4:21.14)2009 Yeats (Johnny Murtagh, Aidan O'Brien, 4:20.73)2010 Rite of Passage (Pat Smullen, Dermot Weld, 4:16.92)2011 Fame and Glory (Jamie Spencer, Aidan O'Brien 4:37.51)2012 Colour Vision (Frankie Dettori, Saeed bin Suroor 4:42.05)2013 Estimate (Ryan Moore, Sir Michael Stoute, 4:20.51)2014 Leading Light (Joseph O'Brien, Aidan O'Brien, 4:21.09)2014 Long Distance Cup winner Forgotten Rules is among the leading contenders for the 2015 Ascot Gold Cup for trainer Dermot Weld, while German horse Protectionist has won at group level at home, in France and Australia, so must enter calculations if taking up an entry.Michael Owen's Brown Panther was third in the race last year before going on to win the Irish St Leger and could attempt a repeat bid. Marco Botti's tac de Boistron is a Group 1 winner in France with course form having won the 2014 Sagaro Stakes, with the same to be said of Queen Alexandra Stakes winner Pique Sous.Other leading fancies include 2013 Long Distance Cup 4th Pale Mimosa, 2014 Queen's Vase winner Hartnell and runner-up of that race Century for leading trainer Aidan O'Brien who may also enter Curragh Cup winner Ernest Hemingway.2015 Royal Ascot ScheduleDay 1 – Tuesday 16 JuneQueen Anne Stakes – Group 1King's Stand Stakes – Group 1St. James's Palace Stakes – Group 1Coventry Stakes – Group 2Ascot Stakes – Class 2 HandicapWindsor Castle Stakes – ListedDay 2 – Wednesday 17 JuneJersey Stakes – Group 3Duke of Cambridge Stakes – Group 2Prince of Wales's Stakes – Group 1Royal Hunt Cup – Class 2 Heritage HandicapQueen Mary Stakes – Group 2Sandringham Handicap – ListedDay 3 – Thursday 18 JuneNorfolk Stakes – Group 2Ribblesdale Stakes – Group 2Gold Cup – Group 1Britannia Stakes – Class 2 Heritage HandicapTercentenary Stakes – Group 3King George V Stakes – Class 2 HandicapDay 4 – Friday 19 JuneAlbany Stakes – Group 3King Edward VII Stakes – Group 2Coronation Stakes – Group 1Wolferton Handicap – ListedQueen's Vase – Group 3Buckingham Palace Stakes – Class 2 handicapDay 5 – Saturday 20 JuneChesham Stakes – ListedHardwicke Stakes- Group 2Diamond Jubilee Stakes – Group 1Wokingham Stakes – Class 2 Heritage HandicapDuke of Edinburgh Stakes – Class 2 HandicapQueen Alexandra Stakes – Class 2 Conditions Race2015 Royal Ascot Top Trainer BettingAll in all, Royal Ascot brings us five days of great racing as all of the top trainers in the UK and Ireland target the meeting with their very best horses. This means that betting on the Top Trainer market is just as popular as betting on the races themselves. There are a number of trainers who have a great record at Royal Ascot an they include the likes of Saeed Bin Suroor for Godolphin, John Gosden, Sir Michael Stoute, Mark Johnston and Aidan O'Brien among many others.In 2006 Mark Johnston had 3 winners from 16 runners to share the honours with Sir Michael Stoute who had 3 winners from 21 runners. The following two years were dominated by the master of Ballydoyle as Aidan O'Brien had 4 winners from 24 runners in 2007 and a staggaring 6 winners from 23 runners in 2008.Richard Hannon returned 3 winners from 17 runners in 2009, and had 3 winners from 23 the following year to tie with Aiden O'Brien who had 3 from 22 in 2010. O'Brien was back on top in 2011 with 4 winners from 16 runners, before John Gosden sent out 5 winners in 2012.Last Five Top Trainers At Royal Ascot2010 - Richard Hannon2011 - Aidan O'Brien2012 - John Gosden2013 - Aidan O'Brien2014 - Sir Michael Stoute