2015 US Open Tennis

2015 US Open Tennis

New York will again play host to the US Open in 2015 as the world’s best tennis players take to the outdoor hard courts for the 135th running of the event. The US Open is the fourth and final Grand Slam event of the year, running between 31 August and 13 September in 2015.

The 2015 edition of the US Open features men’s, women’s and double’s varieties. The women’s final is scheduled for Saturday 12 September, a day before the men take part in their final on Sunday 7 September.

Defending Men’s Champion

Croatian Marin Cilic enters as defending US Open champion having claimed his maiden Grand Slam title in 2014, winning in straight sets against Japan’s Kei Nishikori who also played in his first major final. Cilic beat Roger Federer in the semi-finals on his way to victory while runner-up Nishikori stunned 2011 champion Novak Djokovic at the same stage.

Rafael Nadal was the defending champion, but he withdrew before the tournament began because of a wrist injury.

Marin Cilic is the defending US Open champion

On paper, it is no surprise that Federer is one of the favourites for victory in 2015 with the bookmakers as the Swiss star has won the US Open five times in the past. Federer last won the event back in 2008 however, Juan Martín del Potro having ended Federer’s amazing run of five straight wins in the tournament a year later. Spaniard Nadal this year enters in much better condition and is another one of the big favourites with the bookmakers for US Open success in 2015.

2014 meanwhile was a great year for one-time US Open champion Djokovic as he surged to number one in the world rankings. 2014 was the first time in five years the Serbian failed to reach the final of the US Open, while the likes of Stan Wawrinka, del Potro and 2012 champion Andy Murray should also be seen as potential contenders for victory.

Defending Women’s Champion

 Serena Williams enters as three-time defending champion after defeating Caroline Wozniacki 6–3, 6–3 in the 2014 Women’s final. Williams enters as the favourite for 2015 having not lost a set in the entire tournament last year, that being her 18th Grand Slam singles title.

Samantha Stosur was the last woman to beat Serena in the tournament back in 2011, Kim Clijsters winning the event twice in a row prior to that. While Williams dominates the betting ahead of Wozniacki, others to watch out for include two-time runner-up Victoria Azarenka, as well as Simona Halep, Euginie Bouchard, Petra Kvitova and Agnieszka Radwanska.

Serena Williams currently also holds the most number of US Open wins from those who competed in the 2014 edition. Serena has six title victories in this event, four ahead of her sister, Venus Williams.

Serena Williams aims to make it four in a row in the 2015 US Open

Whoever you fancy to win the 2015 US Open, let Freebets.com help you get the most from your tennis betting. Find free bets from all online bookmakers which can be used to bet on US Open tennis matches, or take advantage of refunds for losing bets and up to date prices to compare on the tournament.

Mens Singles Winners Since 2000:

2000 – Marat Safin
2001 – Lleyton Hewitt
2002 – Pete Sampras
2003 – Andy Roddick
2004 – Roger Federer
2005 – Roger Federer
2006 – Roger Federer
2007 – Roger Federer
2008 – Roger Federer
2009 – Juan Martín del Potro
2010 – Rafael Nadal
2011 – Novak Djokovic
2012 – Andy Murray
2013 – Rafael Nadal
2014 – Marin Cilic

Women’s Singles Winners Since 2000:

2000 – Venus Williams
2001 – Venus Williams
2002 – Serena Williams
2003 – Justine Henin
2004 – Svetlana Kuznetsova
2005 – Kim Clijsters
2006 – Maria Sharapova
2007 – Justine Henin
2008 – Serena Williams
2009 – Kim Clijsters
2010 – Kim Clijsters
2011 – Sam Stosur
2012 – Serena Willams
2013 – Serena Williams
2014 – Serena Williams