Horse Racing

Long Walk Hurdle Betting 2023, Best Betting Offers, Odds & Tips

Can Paisley Park win the Long Walk yet again?

The Long Walk Hurdle is a Grade 1 National Hunt race that takes place annually in December at Ascot.

Run over a distance of 3 miles and 97 yards (5,029 meters), it is one of the longest hurdle races in the world, with twelve hurdles to negotiate.

The race is seen as a stepping stone to the Stayers’ Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival in March and has been won by some top-quality horses over the years.

Since 1971, six winners of the Long Walk Hurdle have gone on to win the Stayers’ Hurdle in the same season - Derring Rose (1980), Baracouda (2001), My Way de Solzen (2005), Big Buck’s (2009, 2010, and 2011), Thistlecrack (2015), and Paisley Park (2018).

Long Walk Hurdle Betting Offers

Betfred logo


Bet £10, Get £50 in Free Bets

Claim Offer
SpreadEx logo


Bet £10 Get £40 in Free Bets

bet365 logo


Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

BetUK logo


Bet £10, Get £30 in Free Bets

Tote logo


Bet £10, Get £50 in Bonuses

Claim Offer
KWIFF logo


Bet £10 Get a £30 Surprise Bet

How To Get Free Bets For The 2023 Long Walk Hurdle

Here at, we partner with the leading online bookmakers to offer you the widest range of betting offers available in the UK - ideal when looking for some free bet action to use on the Long Walk Hurdle.

Paddy Power are many punters go-to bookmaker when it comes to horse racing betting, which is no shock with their wide range of betting markets, enhanced place terms, and generous welcome bonus.

BetMGM burst into the UK betting scene in 2023 and have quickly become a popular destination with horse racing fans keen to check out their competitive odds and price boosts.

Long Walk Hurdle Tips

As the last Grade 1 race in the UK before Christmas, the Long Walk Hurdle is popular with punters, and the 2023 renewal looks set to be an extremely competitive clash with ten runners set to go to post.

Can Paisley Park land the race for a record-equaling fourth time, partnered by our friend Tom Bellamy, or is it time for a young pretender to stand up and be counted, such as the Fergal O’Brien-trained Crambo?

Our top tipping team of Alan Kelly and Charlie McCann have their free Long Walk Hurdle tips on-site now - click on the links below for full details!

Long Walk Hurdle Betting Tips & Stats Guide

What Happened Last Year?

The 2022 Long Walk Hurdle saw Paisley Park win the race for a third time under jockey Aidan Coleman.

Moved to Kempton on Boxing Day due to the weather, Paisley Park produced his legendary late surge to see off Goshen and Champ up the Kempton straight in front of a packed stand.

When & Where Is The 2023 Long Walk Hurdle?

The Long Walk Hurdle is the feature race of Ascot’s two-day Christmas Racing Weekend and will be shown live on ITV Racing.

This year’s Long Walk is scheduled for Saturday, December 23, and it will be the final Grade 1 race in the UK before Christmas.

Recent Long Walk Hurdle Winners

The Long Walk Hurdle has seen multiple-winners over the years, including Baracouda, who won it on four occasions, and Big Bucks, Reve De Sivola, and Paisley Park, who are all three-time winners

Check out the last five winners of the Long Walk in the table below.

2022Paisley Park
2020Paisley Park
2019The Worlds End
2018Paisley Park


chat bubble

When is the 2023 Long Walk Hurdle?

The 2023 Long Walk Hurdle is scheduled for Saturday, December 23.

chat bubble

Where is the Long Walk Hurdle run?

The Long Walk Hurdle is run annually at Ascot Racecourse.

chat bubble

Who won the 2022 Long Walk Hurdle?

Paisley Park won the 2022 Long Walk Hurdle - the third time he has been victorious in the race.

chat bubble

How many times did Baracouda win the Long Walk Hurdle?

Baracouda won the Long Walk Hurdle four times - in 2000, 2001, 2003, and 2004.