Tennis Betting

Australian Open Free Bets & Betting Offers 2024

The first Grand Slam of the tennis year is the Australian Open, a chance for all players on the tour to really put down a marker and show that 2024 is going to be their year.

Here at Freebets, we’ve found the very best Australian Open free bets, betting offers and enhancements for you, which you can check out below!

Australian Open Free Bets & Betting Offers

bet365 logo


Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Copybet logo


Bet £10 Get £50 in Free Bets

Midnite logo


Bet £10 Get £20 + 50 Free Spins

Claim Offer
Fafabet logo


Get Up to £50 Free Bet + £20 Casino Bonus

Betfred logo


Bet £10, Get £50 in Bonuses

Claim Offer
BetUK logo


Bet £10, Get £30 in Free Bets

Virgin Bet logo

Virgin Bet

Bet £10, Get £20 in Free Bets

KWIFF logo


Bet £10, Get £30

Paddy Power logo

Paddy Power

Bet £5, Get £20 in Free Bets

Claim Offer

When Is The Australian Open 2024?

The Australian Open takes centre stage at the start of the calendar year, and this year is no different.

The tournament will run from January 13 until January 28, with the best in the world descending on Australia to battle it out for supremacy.

Statistics and Previous Winners

Here are the most recent winner’s of the men’s event:

  • 2023 - Novak Djokovic
  • 2022 - Rafael Nadal
  • 2021 - Novak Djokovic
  • 2020 - Novak Djokovic
  • 2019 - Novak Djokovic
  • 2018 - Roger Federer

Here are the most recent winner’s of the women’s event:

  • 2023 - Aryna Sabalenka
  • 2022 - Ashleigh Barty
  • 2021 - Naomi Osaka
  • 2020 - Sofia Kenin
  • 2019 - Naomi Osaka
  • 2018 - Caroline Wozniacki

When was the Australian Open first held?

It was first known as the Australasian Championships and first played in 1905, before being renamed the Australian Championships in 1927.

In 1969 it became the Australian Open and has been held in several Australian cities – Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane, Perth and even a couple of times in New Zealand (Christchurch and Hastings). It is now homed in Melbourne, starting off life at the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club from 1972, before moving to its current, and ever-expanding home in Melbourne Park, since 1988.

Which Betting Markets Can I Bet on at the Australian Open?

With 128 players in both the men’s and women’s draw, there are plenty of opportunities to win big through Australian Open betting:

  • Match Winner – A straight two player battle and the most popular bet – can be lucrative if bulked up in an Australian Open accumulator.
  • Number of Sets (Over/Under) – Men’s Grand Slam matches take place over 5 sets, meaning there is often more of a power struggle, giving punters more chances to win big.
  • Tie Break Market – With so much at stake and the speedy courts in Melbourne, tie breaks are a regular occurrence in Grand Slam tennis and punters can exploit that when betting.
  • Quarter Betting – With 128 players in each draw, bookies break the draw down into quarterly sections of 32 players which punters can bet on – to win their quarter and reach the semi-finals.
  • Finalist Bets – Once the Australian Open draw is made, punters can look to predict which two players will make it to the final depending on where in the draw they have been placed.

Australian Open Best Betting Tips & Strategies

As the first Grand Slam on the calendar, picking an outright winner at the Australian Open can sometimes be a difficult task as plenty of players put in many hard yards during the off season.

Here are our Australian Open best betting tips:

  • Tennis knowledge is essential when deciding what/who to back, as lots of external factors such as player form, court surface and players returning from injury can all play a key role. The world rankings are not definitive in terms of deciphering a bet as – lots of players have favoured surfaces (e.g Nadal on clay) where they tend to get their best results and big seeds can often fall to lesser known players if the surfaces don’t suit their games.
  • In-play tennis betting has revolutionised the way in which punters operate in the tennis betting market. While it will never replace betting on the overall outcome of matches or tournaments, in-play betting provides an instantaneous and arguably a more exciting avenue for generating profits. Betting on live tennis live can be highly profitable, is not time consuming whatsoever and allows the bettor, to become engrossed in the live action and develop a better understanding of the game.

Frequently Asked Questions for Australian Open Betting

chat bubble

Who won the Australian Open in 2023?

Novak Djokovic won the men's Australian Open in 2023 while Aryna Sabalenka won the women's Australian Open.

chat bubble

Are there any restrictions on where I can place bets on the Australian Open?

The good news is no, there are no restrictions, just make sure you have a bookmaker account with a provider that offers tennis betting, and you can get started.

chat bubble

What is the smartest way to bet on the Australian Open 2024?

This is completely a personal choice for you. The options are to bet on single games, try out accas across multiple games, or look at the bigger picture and bet on the outright winner markets.

chat bubble

What are the top Australian Open betting apps?

Many operators have great betting apps for tennis including bet365, 888Sport, BetStorm, BetVictor and Betfred.

chat bubble

Who won the most tournaments in Australian Open Men’s Singles?

Novak Djokovic currently holds this title, with 10 wins to his name in the Australian Open.