Cricket Betting

The Ashes 2021/22 Betting Guide – Free Bets, Betting Offers and Top Stats

All eyes in the world of cricket will be on Australia for the next two months. England travel down under for the biggest matchup in Test cricket when they take on Australia for The Ashes.

Across December and January, two of the biggest teams in the game will battle it out for the smallest, but most important, trophy that Test cricket has to offer.

The Ashes 2021/22
Next TestAustralia v England – First Test
WhenWednesday December 8 – Sunday December 12
TimeStarts Midnight GMT each day
WhereThe Gabba, Brisbane
Live StreamingLive on BT Sport
Current Series Score0-0

The Ashes – First Test Preview

England head into the first Test of the series looking to get off to a good start, and that may be possible given the lack of Test cricket that Australia have played recently due to travel restrictions.

The hosts have played just four Test matches in the last two years, compared to 18 that England have played. On top of that, Steve Smith, David Warner, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins have not played cricket with the red ball since February.

England have a tough task going down under, but may have a chance to catch Australia cold in the first game, given the build up for both teams.

In terms of team news, England are set to bring Ben Stokes back into the team, he is a big player who can help with both the bat and ball, but has recently been taking time away from cricket.

Australia have lost their captain in the build up to this Test, Tim Paine has quit the team and stepped back from cricket after being caught up in a scandal. Alex Carey will take over wicketkeeping duties while Pat Cummins will take over captaincy of the team.

Showers are forecast at times during the five days, which could cut play short in parts, though the weather is not expected to be as bad as it has been recently, which cut short preparations for both teams.

How To Get Free Bets For The Ashes

Check out all the best Free Bet offers for the Ashes below.

The Ashes Format

The Ashes is a five Test series between Australia and England, beginning on December 8 and running until January 18.

The players contest games with the hope of winning the urn, and if the series is a draw, as it was last time around, then the team that are already holders, retain the trophy.

Here are the dates for each Test match:

  • Dec 8-12 (0001 GMT, Dec 8) – First Ashes Test, Brisbane
  • Dec 16-20 (0400 GMT, Dec 16) – Second Ashes Test, Adelaide
  • Dec 26-30 (2330 GMT, Dec 25) – Third Ashes Test, Melbourne
  • Jan 5-9 (2330 GMT, Jan 4) – Fourth Ashes Test, Sydney
  • Jan 14-18 (0230 GMT, Jan 14) – Fifth Ashes Test, TBC

Australia Squad

Australia have named a 15 man squad for the series, which has been changed at the last minute due to the Tim Paine saga. Pat Cummins is the new captain, while Alex Carey is the new wicketkeeper.

Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith (vc), Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

England Squad

England have an 18 man squad that has been sent down under to try and win back the urn. Ben Stokes is back, a huge boost, and the squad includes seven pace bowlers as England look to find something that works on the fast, bouncy pitches in Australia.

Joe Root (c), Jos Buttler (vc, wk), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Top Ashes Stats

  • The last time England won a Test match in Australia was the 5th Test match from the 2010/11 series, with England winning by an innings and 83 runs after scoring 644 in their first innings
  • From current active players, Steve Smith is the top Ashes run scorer with 2800 runs from 27 matches, an average of over 65 per innings
  • Steve Smith’s 211 at Manchester in 2019 is the biggest score made by any active player in an Ashes match
  • In terms of bowling, Stuart Broad is the leading wicket taker from active players, he has 118 wickets from 32 matches

What to Bet On?

  • Series Winner – Rather than betting on the five individual games, you can bet on who will win the series and take home the urn
  • Series Correct Score – Those looking for something at bigger odds can bet on the correct score in the series
  • Top Series Run Scorer/Wicket Taker – If you want to bet on a player then look at series markets for the top run scoeer and wicket taker, this can be overall or for the two individual teams
  • Match Betting – Bet on individual Test matches, picking the winner, who will lead after the first innings, who will win the toss, top scorers, top wicket takers and man of the match all available

2021/22 Ashes FAQs


Craig Jones

Craig Jones

US Sports lover and watcher of the EFL, Craig will guide you through the NFL, NHL and English football